Zoom or Fixed

edited April 2012 in General Chat
If anybody could offer their opinion I would be pleased. I am very new at this.

I have seen that you can purchase a variable zoom eyepiece. They seem to have range from about 8mm to 24mm. Are these any good. I suspect their may be a trade off in quality but if they are reasonably good I think it would be very useful. I do realise I may need to pop a fixed one in to get the best view but their does seem to be a lot of searching before settling on final subject. A zoom would seem to make that easier, well hopefully!

I have Startravel 102 SynScan AZ GOTO 102mm Refractor. I am not sure how good the eyepieces that come with it are but they are 10mm and 22mm.

Although I have managed to see moons of Jupiter and Saturns rings I did think the quality would have been better.

I never noticed how many people have security lights. I think my neighbour must have a 1500w lamp in his that seems to be aimed at my back garden.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. I am happy to spend money if it will improve things.

Thank you
Graham

Comments

• I use a range of fixed eyepieces ranging from 4mm to 25mm wide angle, there are a few good zoom eyepieces out there, i imagine it saves taking lots of stuff everytime you go gazing :-*
  • Thanks djbozz
    It's the sort of thing I would like to try before you buy! But thats not gonna happen.

Anybody got one/ used one?

Graham
  • pm sent :D
  • I use a SkyWatcher 7-21mm Zoom eyepiece all the time, very good, and it even works viewing the solar limb using the PST Hydrogen Alpha scope.

Ray
  • Thanks Guys

Think my mind is made up. Time to get my flexible friend out.

Graham
  • or you could pay with a card lol ;;)
  • I tried my 7-21mm zoom eyepiece last night. Very nice it was to. Don't regret buying it. Thanks for the advise from all.